S500 Third party interface

Dear all,

I am a product developer for hydrographic software and would be interested in interfacing this sounder.
But ideally i would like to let the controls be done in the provided software and just listen in on a (local) socket. this saves me a lot of time implementing controls in our own software.

Is this possible in some way?

Thanks!
Rich.

Hello Rich,

Let me discuss with the Eng. team and I will get back to you.

Thanks,

Hi Rich, Do you mean you would like to use SonarView to control the S500, but you would like for the data stream to your s/w via a socket?

Hi Larry,
Yes that is exactly what I mean!
Maybe if the packets that are sent were sent to a broadcast address this would already be possible.

Kind regards,
Richard.

This is not possible currently. Note that SonarView can save a log file, so that if your requirement is not real time, you could just use that. Perhaps in a future release we could direct that log file output from SonarView to a socket/stream of some sort.

Hi Larry,

Thanks for your answer, too bad for me ;-).
Maybe as a suggestion , can you make an example sonar log file available for download in the support section? I have been writing some code but could not yet test it since my client did not receive the actual unit. I searched on the internet but really could not find some real data.
Kind regards

Great idea. I’ll post a sample file here shortly.

Here is an S500 log file: Dropbox - shallow to 15m.svlog - Simplify your life

Hi Larry,

I am analyzing the file you gave me.

What I really need (not only me but every user of hydrographic software) )is the used speed of sound. This is used to convert the measured depth back to travel time and re-apply other sound velo when required. Users tend to let this stay on 1500 and then afterwards re-process.

But it is not directly available for parsing, but I see there is a start and end range in millimeters so I can re-compute the used sound velo: